Main Content Region

Mariatu Browne Bio

Mariatu Browne

Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship

Mariatu Browne, CSUSB School of Entrepreneurship lecturer

Joined the Entrepreneurship Team in 2020

Mariatu opened her first salon in 2006, but a series of personal hardships compounded by the economic downturn forced her to close her doors. Mariatu continued to improve her cosmetology skills by working at other salons and decided to go back to school.

In 2010, she enrolled at Chaffey College and earned an Associate of Science degree.

In 2014, Mariatu accepted the Spirit of the Entrepreneur Scholarship from California State University, giving her the boost she needed to receive training, education, mentoring, and business resources. In October 2016, Mariatu went on to open Tu Organics Salon and Spa in Rancho Cucamonga, the City's first-ever Green Beauty Salon.

In 2017, Mariatu earned two bachelor degrees in entrepreneurial management and marketing. In 2019, Mariatu joined Riverside City College Cosmetology Department as an Adjunct Lecturer. Her specific objective is to mentor and create job skills for her Cosmetology students. In June 2020, she earned her Professional MBA degree from California State University, San Bernardino.

She recently joined the Entrepreneurship Department, as an Adjunct Lecturer. In addition to her education, Mariatu has launched a second location of Tu Organics Salon and Spa in Las Vegas, Nevada. .

Most Admired Entrepreneur:

Marcus Lemonis, The Profit

Awards & Accolades:

  • In the fall of 2015, Mariatu went to the Inland Empire Women's Business Center as part of the "It's Your Time: An Entrepreneurial Training Series for Women." She completed the program in December 2015, receiving second place in the competition for the best business plan.
  • Mariatu's commitment to environmental sustainability earned her a Certificate of Recognition from the City of Rancho Cucamonga for participating in the Healthy RC Green Business Recognition Program.
  • Mariatu is also a member of the Professional Beauty Association.
CSUSB School of Entrepreneurship Faculty Directory
CSUSB School of Entrepreneurship Faculty Directory

Our battle-tested leaders are here to provide student support. We invite you to connect with us!

Faculty Position / Areas of Responsibility Contact Info
Dr. Michael Stull Director of the School of Entrepreneurship, Professor of Entrepreneurship and Director of the Inland Empire Center for Entrepreneurship /IECE mstull@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5708
Steve Abbott Entrepreneur in Residence, Lecturer of Entrepreneurship sabbott@csusb.edu
909/ 537-3597
Frank Almeida Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship frank.almeida@csusb.edu
951/ 323-7647
AJ Beechko Adjunct Professor of Law and Entrepreneurship ajbeechko@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5708
Ezekiel Bonillas Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship ebonillas@csusb.edu
760/ 848-9102
Mariatu Browne Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship mariatu.browne@csusb.edu
909/ 231-2875
Monica Estrella Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship mestrella@csusb.edu
Karla Gonzalez Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship kgonzalez@iesmallbusiness.com
951/ 781-2345
Dr. Anna Long-Ruboyianes Assistant Professor of Entrepreneurship anna.long@csusb.edu
Vincent McCoy Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship vmccoy@csusb.edu
760/ 449-6850
Mitch Morris Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship mitchellcmorris@gmail.com
909/ 537-5708
Patrick Person Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship pperson@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5708
Lisa Rios Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship lrios@leadershipdimensionsinc.com
951/ 444-7404
Ernie Silvers Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship esilvers@csusb.edu
909/ 537-3760
Michelle Skiljan Adjunct Professor of Law and Entrepreneurship mskiljan@iewbc.org
951/ 781-2345
Johanna Smith Professor of Theatre Education, Improvisation, & Puppetry, College of Arts & Letters johanna@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5881
Dr. John Tillquist Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship jtillquist@TechCoastAngels.com
951/ 323-7647
Connect with IECE!