Main Content Region

Steve Abbott Bio

Steve Abbott

Lecturer, Entrepreneur-in-Residence

Joined the Entrepreneurship Team in 2009

Steve Abbott

Steve graduated Magna Cum Laude from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo with a degree in Mathematics. He applied those skills to the insurance industry, specifically actuarial science. He earned the accreditation as an Associate of the Society of Actuaries. Steve played an integral role in forming Specialty Insurance Service in the mid-80’s. Steve transitioned from the CTO role to the CEO by 1990. He led the company through a round of venture financing and structured a successful exit in 1998. In 2000 Steve earned his EMBA from The Peter Drucker School of Management at the Claremont Graduate University. In 2004, Steve started an independent consulting firm specializing M&A transactions for closely held companies and in mentoring and coaching entrepreneurs. Beginning in early 2009, Steve was a founding executive with Avisio, Inc., a public company focused on transforming underutilized assets into successful companies. Steve is also a member of the Tech Coast Angels investment group.

Most Admired Entrepreneur:

The Lee Brothers, Wahoo Fish Tacos!

CSUSB School of Entrepreneurship Faculty Directory
CSUSB School of Entrepreneurship Faculty Directory

Our battle-tested leaders are here to provide student support. We invite you to connect with us!

Faculty Position / Areas of Responsibility Contact Info
Dr. Michael Stull Director of the School of Entrepreneurship, Professor of Entrepreneurship and Director of the Inland Empire Center for Entrepreneurship /IECE mstull@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5708
Steve Abbott Entrepreneur in Residence, Lecturer of Entrepreneurship sabbott@csusb.edu
909/ 537-3597
Frank Almeida Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship frank.almeida@csusb.edu
951/ 323-7647
AJ Beechko Adjunct Professor of Law and Entrepreneurship ajbeechko@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5708
Ezekiel Bonillas Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship ebonillas@csusb.edu
760/ 848-9102
Mariatu Browne Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship mariatu.browne@csusb.edu
909/ 231-2875
Monica Estrella Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship mestrella@csusb.edu
Karla Gonzalez Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship kgonzalez@iesmallbusiness.com
951/ 781-2345
Dr. Anna Long-Ruboyianes Assistant Professor of Entrepreneurship anna.long@csusb.edu
Vincent McCoy Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship vmccoy@csusb.edu
760/ 449-6850
Mitch Morris Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship mitchellcmorris@gmail.com
909/ 537-5708
Patrick Person Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship pperson@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5708
Lisa Rios Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship lrios@leadershipdimensionsinc.com
951/ 444-7404
Ernie Silvers Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship esilvers@csusb.edu
909/ 537-3760
Michelle Skiljan Adjunct Professor of Law and Entrepreneurship mskiljan@iewbc.org
951/ 781-2345
Johanna Smith Professor of Theatre Education, Improvisation, & Puppetry, College of Arts & Letters johanna@csusb.edu
909/ 537-5881
Dr. John Tillquist Adjunct Professor of Entrepreneurship jtillquist@TechCoastAngels.com
951/ 323-7647
Connect with IECE!